Equifax Data Breach

Revised 9/11/2017 12:30pm

One of the four major credit reporting agencies, Equifax, reported a data breach on Sept. 7, 2017 – and could affect up to a reported 143 million Americans. The breach took place mid-May through July of this year, and it is reported that hackers accessed names, social security numbers, birth dates, addresses, and other personal information. We recommend you take immediate action to ensure the security of your personal information and reduce the chance of identity theft. Your personal information may have been breached even if you didn’t personally use Equifax’s services directly. You can reach Equifax at 866-447-7559.

Here are some options to secure your data

  • You can check whether you were affected through Equifax.
  • If you would like credit/ID monitoring we suggest comparing (TopTen, Reviews, Tom’s) the protection services available to find the best one for your needs. Equifax is also offering one year of free identity theft protection.
  • Another option is to place a credit freeze on your files at all four reporting agencies (Equifax, Experian, TransUnion, Innovis) that will make it more difficult for someone to open a new account or credit line, etc. using your info. This may involve a fee and requires you to lift the freeze(with a 3 day hold) when you intend to open a new account, but is a strong way to guard your information.
  • You can also set up fraud alerts through some of the reporting agencies.
  • Consider strengthening/changing your passwords and pins with all financial or credit card organizations that you access online. It would be ideal to use a unique password for each site. 
  • Closely monitor your banking and credit card activity and immediately report any unauthorized transactions. You can set up account alerts and check balances using Online Banking, Mobile Banking, and CardValet.
  • Also be on the lookout for any phishing activity that appears to come from credit card or banking services asking for information such as account numbers and passwords. Do not respond to emails or phone calls asking for such information.

Please check back often, we will update this page information and resources as this continues to unfold.